May 15, 2019: Carillon Quartet

For their May 15, 2019 performance, the four trumpeters of the Carillon Quartet played a continuous set of compositions and structured improvisations, coordinated with film and prerecorded electronics.


  • Stefano Scodanibbio – Plaza (2002)
  • Tangos (arr. Dan Gonzalez, 2019)
    • Astor Piazzolla – Oblivion
    • Astor Piazzolla  – Adios Nonino
    • Carlos Gardel – Por Una Cabeza
    • Carlos Gardel – El Dia Que Me Quieras
  • Carillon Quartet – Music of the Spheres (2019)
  • David Rosenboom – Zones of Coherence (2003)
  • Carillon Quartet – Sonic Meditation (inspired by Pauline Oliveros) (2019)

The Carillon Quartet: Nicolas Bejarano, Ethan Marks, with special guests Michael Davis and Dillon Parker.

Audio and video design by Nicolas Bejarano and Ethan Marks.

About the Program: El Aleph is the second installment of a series of concerts inspired by the literature of Jorge Luis Borges. We’re awakened by Stefano Scodanibbio’s Plaza (2002), representing the feeling of stirring remembrances of past time, of loss, and of the inevitable discomfort of grief. The music is accompanied by videos of the Los Angeles skyline at sunrise and sunset. The piece transitions into traditional tangos by Astor Piazzolla and Carlos Gardel, arranged by Mexican composer Dan Gonzales, as the video moves into footage of a by-gone Hollywood era overlaid with that most common of LA phenomena: traffic. The tangos devolve into Music of the Spheres, a sound bath of Tibetan singing bowls, ancient trumpets, and manipulated sounds from NASA’s recordings of the planets. We have discovered The Aleph: a convergence of space-time containing all other points of space-time. Simultaneously, the video transitions to images of black holes, nebulae, star fields, pulsars, and simulated exo-planets. Inside this meditation, confronting the infinite, we are slowly brought back to reality through David Rosenboom’s Zones of Coherence (2003). With unusual trumpet sounds, virtuosic runs, and echoes of nature, we find comfort in a familiar place, ourselves changed by the discovery of The Aleph. As the piece comes to a close, the concert ends with a Pauline Oliveros-inspired deep listening meditation, accompanied by a time-lapse video of the Super Blue Blood Moon over Los Angeles on January 31, 2018. The Carillon Quartet invites the audience to contribute sonically to this meditation if inspiration strikes. The performance runs for approximately 70min with no interruptions. We hope you enjoy taking this journey with us. —The Carillon Quartet

Recorded by Adam Borecki Recording


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: