From January 2016 to March 2020, the Soundwaves concert series presented dozens of free performances of world-class creative music at the Santa Monica Public Library, including collaborations with PianoSpheres, Jacaranda, the Angel City Jazz Festival, Microfest, Cold Blue Music, the Dog Star Orchestra Festival, and others. Due to cuts in the Library’s budget and hours, the regular series will not resume.

However, there will be three Saturday afternoon concerts this summer, outdoors at the Library’s Pico Branch Annex in Virginia Avenue Park, at 2200 Virginia Ave, Santa Monica, CA, 90404. They’re at 3:30 on the first Saturday of the month, one set only. No tickets or reservations, just come on by.

June 4 is the West Coast Chamber Jazz Trio: Andrea Centazzo (percussion, electronics, and compositions), Ellen Burr (flutes), and Jeff Schwartz (bass).

July 2 is Dan Rosenboom‘s quintet.

and August 6 is Lauren Baba‘s quintet.

Like most encores, this is just a little extra after the ending, but also something special you won’t want to miss.



There will be no Soundwaves events until it is safe for people to gather again. As many of the artists scheduled for March, April, May, and June will be rebooked as possible once the next season can be planned.

That season will be partially supported by a grant from the Amphion Foundation. Many thanks to them.

Meanwhile, videos of past shows are available on this page, and more are on their way.

Follow this page on your RSS reader for updates, subscribe to the Library’s YouTube channel for new video uploads, like or follow SMPL on other social media for all library developments, and stay safe.